Ash Wednesday

Today marks the beginning of Lent. I began observing this season just a few years ago and have found much encouragement through a dedicated time of reflection. Regardless of what we “give up” during this time, the discipline of meditating on Jesus’ own sacrifice and the celebration of his subsequent resurrection and exaltation can become powerful moments in our lives.

I plan to share various thoughts and resources along the way during this season, from today until Easter. I invite you to come along, to investigate and to participate yourself. My hope is that along the way we will each be drawn into a greater intimacy with Jesus and be able to echo what Paul writes in Philippians 3:10-11:

that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

2 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday

  1. Brett, thank you so much for doing this! It’s great to know that you’ve journeyed through Lent before and that you will be able to provide insights for those of us traveling through Lent for the first time (such as myself).

    I’m taking some time off on certain things for a season, but I have subscribed to your blog for your thoughts and resources that you will share in the hope that they will supplement and enhance my journey.

    I have been greatly disappointed over the past couple of days from the negativity and judgmental attitude from people I follow on Twitter about the Lenten season who either don’t understand it or think that by “giving up” something that we are somehow doing it “just for show” rather than using this time to recommit with and reconnect to Christ.

    I’m looking forward to learning more.

    1. Brett Shilton

      Thanks for your comment & thoughts, Thomas. Obviously I have not written & blogged as much as this post implied that I would. I’m hoping to change that.

      As for this journey, I think what often makes it the most beneficial is doing it in community. That’s what makes those negative comments so hard: it’s not as though we need others’ affirmation as much as any journey that feels alone can be a bit of an uphill battle.

      I hope you have found others that have been willing to journey with you and encourage you along the way. I’m going to try to be a bit more regular in my thoughts along the way, too.

      Thanks again for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

