TMI (Part 1)

Writing

One thing that’s true about the internet is that there’s plenty of information. It’s an easy place to go and waste time, but also to rationalize the time spent by recognizing all the knowledge we gleaned and how much more we “know.”

With that realization, what difference does it make that I should have a blog? After all, aren’t I just adding to the noise? Am I so important that my two cents and my opinions need to be shared with the masses?

These are questions you may not have asked, but I certainly have.

I don’t think it’s important to say something just to make my voice heard; I’m not arrogant enough to think that the world is missing out if it doesn’t hear me speak. However, I also realize that each one of us is given a voice and we ought not be afraid of speaking with boldness and clarity, grace and charity.

And so this is going to sound incredibly self-centered, but it’s the reality which I’m operating from:

I don’t write so much so that you’ll hear me, as much as I write so I can find my voice.

But giving too many details has long been a struggle of mine. An English professor from college once wrote on a paper, “Summarize, my friend.” That advice has echoed throughout my life in numerous contexts.

Even now I’m tempted to say more, to elaborate further, to be sure to clarify so that you understand the point I’m trying so desperately to convey.

I know, I’m beating a dead horse.

So what’s the point with this post anyways? I guess I’m just asking for a little grace. I know I might write too much, use too many words in a post, overly repeat the same idea with incessant redundancy. But I’m trying to figure it out, to find my voice–and maybe the meter and frequency that will best accompany.

Really, grace is that thing we all need. We’re trying to figure out this thing called life. Whether its a blog, a relationship, a career path, parenting, whatever, we all need a little grace to keep us going.

We need permission to try, to fail, to get back up and keep on going.

So while information itself has become a sort of commodity, grace has not. It cannot. It is, by it’s very nature, free.

Give it away.

2 thoughts on “TMI (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

